Catalogue

The Prince Rupert Library will be closed as of March 17 2020, until further notice, to limit the possibility of spreading COVID-19. Check our news page for further details. However, as of June 1, the return bin is now open, and curbside pickup service is now available.

Record Details

Catalogue Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at BC Interlibrary Connect. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Prince Rupert Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Prince Rupert Library Elon (Text) 33294002072585 Adult Fiction - Second Floor Volume hold Checked out 2020-07-24

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781982130220
  • ISBN: 1982130229
  • Physical Description: print
    309 pages ; 24 cm.
  • Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Atria Books, 2020.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "For fans of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, a lyrical and exquisitely moving novel about a writer who embarks on a transformative journey in Amsterdam, where he discovers the shocking truth about his mother's wartime experience-unearthing a remarkable story that becomes the subject of his magnum opus. At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to meet with his Dutch publisher, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon a looping reel of photos offering a glimpse of pre-war Dutch Jewish life, and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with her husband, Yoel's older sister, Nettie...and an infant he doesn't recognize. This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, revealing Amsterdam's dark wartime history and the underground networks which hid Jewish children away from danger-but at a cost. The deeper into the past Yoel digs, the better he understands his mother's silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime-Who am I?-becomes. Evocative, insightful, and deeply resonant, House on Endless Waters beautifully illustrates the complex nature of identity and belonging, and the inextricability of past and present"--
Subject: Jewish authors -- Fiction
Jews -- Netherlands -- Amsterdam -- History -- Fiction
Jews, Dutch -- History -- Fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction
Genre/Form: Historical fiction.

Additional Resources