Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search




Search Results Showing Item 6 of 28

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780307373816 (electronic bk.)
  • ISBN: 0307373819 (electronic bk.)
  • Physical Description: electronic resource
    remote
    1 online resource
  • Publisher: [Toronto] : Doubleday Canada, 2011.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: Mercy Among the Children received effusive praise from the critics, was nominated for a Governor General's Award and won the Giller Prize. It was named one of 2000's best books, became a national bestseller in hardcover for months, and would be published in the US and UK. It is seen, however, as being at odds with literary fashion for concerning itself with good and evil and the human freedom to choose between them -- an approach that puts Richards, as Maclean's magazine says, firmly in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dostoevsky. Author Wayne Johnston recounts hearing Richards read in 1983 and being struck by his unqualified love for every one of his characters, even though "it was not then fashionable to love your characters". Pottersfield Portfolio editor Tony Tremblay calls Richards the most misunderstood Canadian writer of the century, and a "great moralist", comparing him to Morley Callaghan, Kafka and Melville.
Source of Description Note:
Description based on eBook information screen.
Subject: New Brunswick -- Fiction
Genre: Electronic books.
Search Results Showing Item 6 of 28

Additional Resources